The founders of our country understood that a fresh start under federal law is so essential to the fiscal health and economic vitality of our country; they included the right to file bankruptcy in Article 1, Section 8 of the United States Constitution.

Bankruptcy Chapters

There are six types of bankruptcy under the Bankruptcy Code, located at Title 11 of the United States Code:

  1. Chapter 7 (a liquidation-style case for individuals or businesses)
  2. Chapter 9 (Municipal bankruptcy)
  3. Chapter 11 (a more complex rehabilitation-style case used primarily by business debtors, but sometimes by individuals with substantial debts and assets)
  4. Chapter 12 (a payment plan or rehabilitation-style case for family farmers and fishermen)
  5. Chapter 13 (a payment plan or rehabilitation-style case for individuals with a regular source of income)
  6. Chapter 15 (ancillary and other cross-border cases)

The most common types of personal bankruptcy for individuals are Chapter 7 and Chapter 13.

Contact us today to learn more about your options under the current bankruptcy laws. We're here to help. Have questions on filing for bankruptcy and need a Dallas bankruptcy attorney or a Fort Worth bankruptcy attorney? The Patrick D. West Law Firm, P.C. has been providing bankruptcy and debt solution legal counsel for over 20 years. The law office serves bankruptcy clients in these DFW area cities in both Dallas & Tarrant Counties: Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington, Irving, Grapevine, Grand Prairie, Euless, Bedford, Hurst, Haltom City, Burleson, Colleyville, Mansfield, Keller, Saginaw, West Lake, Richland Hills, Coppell, Lewisville, and more